WAIMH Awards 2018

The recipient of the WAIMH Award in WAIMH 15th World Congress in Prague 2016 was Pia Risholm-Mothander. The WAIMH Award is given in recognition of significant contributions to the World Association for Infant Mental Health, either directly or through one of the WAIMH Affiliate Associations.

WAIMH offers four important awards in recognition of individuals from across the world who have made very important contributions to the infant mental health community in the course of their careers. Interdisciplinary by design, WAIMH invites nominations from the fields of health, mental health, early care and education, early intervention, hospitals, colleges and universities, legislatures, to name just a few.

There are 4 award categories: WAIMH Award, Sonya Bemporad Award, Serge Lebovici Award, Rene Spitz Award.

Required nomination materials for the WAIMH Award, the Sonya Bemporad Award, the Serge Lebovici Award and the Réne Spitz Award include:

1. A 250-500 word statement indicating why the nominee should receive the award.

2. A copy of the nominee’s resume, vita, or biographical sketch. If you are nominating a group, provide a complete description of the group and its members as well as a WAIMH Awards 2018 brief history of its relevant activities.

3. Three letters of support from individuals who endorse your nomination.

Submit all nomination materials in one packet and e-mail to the WAIMH Central Office postmarked no later than  December 31, 2017. The WAIMH Awards Committee will select each of these awardees.

WAIMH New Investigator Award 2018

WAIMH offers a special award for a promising new investigator.

The purpose of the WAIMH New Investigator Award is to recognize and encourage promising new investigators in infant mental health. The applicant must be a member of WAIMH or must be sponsored by a member of WAIMH. The applicant must have earned a university degree no more than eight years prior to the application deadline. The individual selected as new investigator receives a cash award, a plaque, and acceptance of his/her paper for publication in the Infant Mental Health Journal (this involves exposure to the peer review process as a way of assisting the investigator’s professional development). In addition, the new investigator must be prepared to present his or her work at the following world congress. We now call for applications for the WAIMH New Investigator Award.

Required nomination materials for the New Investigator Award include:

A statement indicating why he/she should receive the award

A manuscript of the applicant’s research

A curriculum vitae

Submit all nominating materials in one packet to the WAIMH Central Office at office@waimh.org no later than December 31, 2017. The Programme Committee of the 16th WAIMH World Congress will decide the next WAIMH New Investigator Awardee after reviewing the applications.


See previous Awardees in WAIMH website: https://www.waimh.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3280



WAIMH Awards 2018


United States

Leave a Reply