WAIMH Award nominations

WAIMH offers five important awards. The following award nominations are in conjunction with our biennial congresses call for proposals. WAIMH recognizes members from across the world who have made very important contributions to the infant mental health community. The WAIMH Awards Committee encourages nominations from a variety of disciplines and settings around the world, e.g. health, mental health, early care and education, early intervention, hospitals, colleges and universities, legislatures, to name just a few.

Nominations are invited for each of the following award categories: WAIMH Award, Sonya Bemporad Award, Serge Lebovici Award, Rene Spitz Award, and the New Investigator Award.

The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2015.  There will be no exceptions.

Required nomination materials for the WAIMH Award, the Sonya Bemporad Award, the Serge Lebovici Award and the Réne Spitz Award

  1. A 250-500 word statement indicating why the nominee should receive the award.
  2. A copy of the nominee’s resume, vita, or biographical sketch. If you are nominating a group, provide a complete description of the group and its members as well as a brief history of its relevant activities.
  3. Three letters of support from individuals who endorse your nomination.
  4. Submit all nomination materials in one packet and mail it to the WAIMH Central Office postmarked or e-mailed no later than December 31, 2015.

Please send the entire application packet to the WAIMH Central Office (office@waimh.org, Street address: Medical School, Laakarinkatu 1, Arvo C221, FIN- 33014 University of Tampere, Finland) or direct all materials to the WAIMH Central Office at office@waimh.org

WAIMH will forward applications to the awards committee.

Direct any questions to the awards committee via the Central Office (office@waimh.org).


Given in recognition of significant contributions to the World Association for Infant Mental Health, either directly or through one of the WAIMH Affiliate Associations.

2014 Recipients

Hisako Watanabe and Beulah Warren (2014)

Past Recipients

Catherine Maguire and Rochelle Matacz (2012)

Astrid Berg (2010)

Campbell Paul and Brigid Jordan (2008)

Sam Tyano (2006)

Dilys Daws (2002)

Joy Osofsky (2000)

Sonya Bemporad (1996)

Justin Call (1996)

Robert Emde (1996)

Hiram Fitzgerald (1996)

Eleanor Galenson (1996)

Serge Lebovici (1996)

Sonya Bemporad Award

Given in recognition of significant contributions to the advancement of social and public policies that contribute to the mental health and overall benefit of infants, toddlers, and their families. Nominees typically are not involved in service delivery or scientific or clinical studies of infants. Legislators, officials, advocates, media representatives, foundation directors, and concerned citizens may qualify for the award.

2014 Recipients

Natalia Trenchi and Miguel Aguerro (2014)

Past Recipients

Deborah Weatherston (2012)

Tuula Tamminen (2010)

Matthew Melmed (2008)

Pam Linke (2006)

Salvador Celia (2002)

Betty Tableman (2002)

Paul Steinhauer (2000)

Serge Lebovici Award

Given in recognition of significant contributions to the international development of infant mental health. Nominees typically are individuals who have been actively involved in collaborative efforts that have cross-national implications for infant mental health.

2014 Recipient

Heidelise Als (2014)

Past Recipients

Elisabeth Fivaz-Depeursinge (2012)

Charles H. Zeanah, Jr. (2010)

Daniel Stern (2008)

Michel Soule (2006)

Myriam David (2002)

René Spitz Award

Given in recognition of significant lifetime contributions to clinical and/or experimental research on topics related to infant mental health. Nominees typically are individuals who have made substantive scientific contributions to the interdisciplinary field of infant mental health.

2014 Recipient

Colwyn Trevarthen (2014)

Past Recipients

Peter Fonagy (2012)

Mechtild Papousek (2010)

Takeo Doi (2008)

Robert Emde (2006)

  1. Berry Brazelton (2002)

New Investigator Award

The purpose of the WAIMH New Investigator Award is to recognize and encourage promising new investigators in infant mental health. The applicant must be a member of WAIMH or must be sponsored by a member of WAIMH. The applicant must have earned a university degree no more than eight years prior to the application deadline. The individual selected as new investigator receives a cash award, a plaque, and acceptance of his/her paper for publication in the Infant Mental Health Journal (this involves exposure to the peer review process as a way of assisting the investigator’s professional development). In addition, the new investigator must be prepared to present his or her work at the following world congress.

The New Investigator Award recipient Sheri Madigan and President Miri Keren in 2014 WAIMH World Congress in Edinburgh. Photo: WAIMH archives.

Required application support materials for the New Investigator Award

  1. A cover letter on institutional letterhead indicating that you want to be considered for the New Investigator Award competition.
  2. One copy of the applicant’s curriculum vitae or resume.
  3. One copy of the abstract submitted to the program committee of the congress.
  4. Four copies of an original unpublished version of the paper described in the abstract.
  5. A sponsor’s letter if you are not a member of WAIMH. The sponsoring letter must be written by a member of WAIMH.
  6. Submit all nomination materials in one packet and mail it to the WAIMH Central Office postmarked or e-mailed no later than December 31, 2015.

Past Recipients

Sheri Madigan (2014)

Elita Amini Virmani (2010)

Wakako Sanefuji (2008)

Claire Vollotton (2006)

Kaija Puura (2002)

Laurie A. Van Egeren (2000)

Anne McDonald Culp (1996)


WAIMH Award nominations


United States

Leave a Reply